THE San Francisco Giants Blog

NL Individual Awards

Posted in Uncategorized by Flavor on October 5, 2012

Dear Baseball Blogger’s Alliance:

Since I don’t have an official vote with the BBA (pending) I am going to now release my votes for the winners of the 5 awards that are given out to 5 winners of each major end-of-season category.

I am not going to go with the conventional picks, no sane person could pick someone other than, say, Craig Kimbrel, for the Goose Gossage Award. So read slowly, I don’t want to have to explain it to you later. Not doing the AL, just the NL…..)

Here we go……

Manager of the Year (The Connie Mack Award): Easy one. It’s Bruce Bochy by a landslide.

Rookie of the Year (The Willie Mays Award): Angel Pagan. Did anyone realize he had 15 triples this year? But I digress, Angel Pagan is not up for this award. The Rookie of the Year in the NL is……..Bryce Harper. Pretty easy call, though Miley is getting some ink. Did Miley have to deal with the press dogging him every second of the day waiting to photograph a f**k up? I think not……

Top Reliever of the Year (Goose Gossage Award): You’d think I’d just hand it over to Kimbrel but I’m a little twisted and that’s quite in line with this next pick: John Axford. This f**k imploded 3 of my 5 fantasy teams until I unceremoniously waived him some time around the beginning of August. It felt so good…

But a funny thing happened. He stopped sucking. He went on a save spree that by the end of September made me punch myself in the face. Twice. Bad managing can earn professional baseball players fake awards. Deal with it…….

Cy Young (The Walter Johnson Award): Um, don’t expect me to say Dickey. And as much as I’d love to give it to Cain it is going to go to Cueto except for the problem of me not being able to give it to Cueto for fear of ultimate blog anarchy.

So I’m going to give it to Billy Swift because even though he deserved to lose it to Maddux in 1993 (who had an insane year) he was THE MAN that year and I think that after 19 years it’s time to finally honor him. Or we I could just give it to Lance Lynn who won 18 games this year and I think he’s a freaking terrible pitcher. But he out-pitched my expectations so….he wins.

Now for the MVP Award (NL) The Stan Musial Award: My obvious pick is Buster, as it should be, but people in general are idiots, and in an attempt to appreciate how stupid the country is I’ll give the MVP to Yadier Molina.

Huh? I know, the horror!

It would be like Romney winning the election……..

Relax, it’s not happening…….


9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. unca_chuck said, on October 5, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Didnt Burkett win 20 that year as well?

  2. unca_chuck said, on October 5, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Love the billy swift call though

  3. eddacker said, on October 6, 2012 at 4:00 am

    props to Billy Swift. But as to the rest of this? I was a bit confused. So I went away and did some housework and came back and read it a second time, slowly, and, by God it made sense. Which of these awards is for WAR?


  4. Bozo said, on October 6, 2012 at 5:19 am

    A shout out to Swifty Bill? That there is gold my friend.
    That 93 team is sill one of my favorites. Even though we didn’t go to the POs that was a very special year IMO.

    Yes Chuck, the bowling Charcoal Burkett won 22 that year and Swift won 21.

  5. Nipper said, on October 6, 2012 at 6:05 am

    Yes…… memorable.

  6. Wilcojoe said, on October 6, 2012 at 7:01 am

    I think Bochy should win hands down…The way the team responded when Melky went down combined with his closer by committee excellence is the clincher….However I think the voters will go with Davey Johnson unless Dusty splits votes as a sentiemental and media favorite, therby giving it to Bochy.

  7. pawliekokonuts said, on October 6, 2012 at 9:41 am

    Oddly enough, this is challenging for me, because I’m not the stats man that most fans are (‘cept for things like 38DD, 24, 36). I don’t know, maybe in some eyes I’m barely a baseball fan. After all, last night I was at a casino while fans in Atlanta were tossing beer cans into left field. Since this cyber-ballot allows for some Joycean whimsy and time traveling, here goes:

    Connie Mack Award: Connie Mack himself, followed in order by Bruce Bochy, Davey Johnson, and Mike Matheny.

    Willie Mays Award: Mike Trout, of the Angels. Yeah, you asked for NL choices and he’s in the AL, but his greatness bleeds into the NL.

    Goose Gossage Award: The Giants’ Closer By Committee (CBC). Why not? Props to our corps de relief.

    Cy Young Award: Aroldis Chapman. Just to be different. With Fernando Rodney as runner-up [see above, for rationale; he was THAT good; plus, I got to witness it live last Monday].

    Stan Musial Award: Marco Scutaro. It’s not just the numbers. And, you know, he’s been such a great pickup; talk about VALUABLE, talk about VALUE and return on investment! MarcoVP!

    Go, Gigantes, all the way!

  8. twinfan1 said, on October 6, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Well, with the right to be silly and or contrary firmly established, here goes:
    Manager of the Year: Donnie TwoTrips:without that second trip and Bochy’s bust, no one would have begun to give Bruce another look, the look that said “I was wrong about you, you sly motherfucker”. So it’s late, but Donnie gets honorary MOY for making the “Bonehead” boneheads see the real MOY…
    Rookie of the Year: Bryce Harper gets “He wasn’t as much of an asshole as everyone thiought he would be award”. Rookie award goes to Lucas Harrell who managed to win 11 games for a team that lost 107…
    Top Reliever: I’m giving this to Clay Hensley since even Bochy, who was alleged to be Clay’s bosom buddy and the only reason Hensley was on the team, cruelly left him off the postseasin roster in favor of Matt Cain..
    Cy Young: This award will go to all the career mediocrities who beat us this year, prompting bloggers to dub them all “the latest Cy Young”. In future this will be known as the “Chris Volstad Award”
    MVP: No way this award should go to a guy who spends most of his time sitting down on the job, so sorry Buster. I’ll contradict myself a bit here and give MVP to Hector Sanchez, who takes laziness to greater heights by even refusing to get off his ass to throw a runner out,,
    BTW, the unemployment rate went down 33 percent at my house when Zeke found employment, Winnie is paying him to shit in somrbody elses’s yard. I’m hoping the new job figures will offset my lackluster performance in the latest paperboy debate..

  9. Irish Kevin said, on October 6, 2012 at 11:04 am

    I think we should all embrace Marvin Benard as ROY. I mean come on the giants gave him a raise for his outstanding year

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: